Woven Ruby

This quilt started with just a layer cake of Ruby by Bonnie and Camilla for Moda. I love the prints in this line, and I didn’t want to chop them up too much. I ended up cutting each layer cake into 5 – 2″ strips and piecing those with some solid white. After trimming the blocks to 8″ square I played with layouts, and ultimately decided on this simple woven design:
Woven Ruby Quilt
On the back I included a few left over blocks and some complimenting prints:
Woven Ruby Quilt - back
For the quilting, I decided to try out Elizabeth Hartman’s Dogwood pattern. It’s quite similar to the orange peel quilt pattern that I’ve used before! I quilted a dogwood in each 7.5″ block; the larger quilt design really softened the look of this quilt, especially after a trip through the wash.
Woven Ruby Quilt
I used the aqua pin dot from the Ruby line for the binding, with a tiny bit of piecing thrown in!
Woven Ruby Quilt - back
Finished off at 49″ x 63″, this is a great lap quilt for snuggling on the couch (or in an adirondack chair)! It’s now listed in the shop!
Woven Ruby Quilt
12 responses to “Woven Ruby

Leave a Reply

