quilts, market bags, and auctions, oh my!

While we were living in Seattle, Addy went to Catholic school. Like most private schools, Addy’s school had a yearly auction to help raise money. I think I mentioned *the* auction quilt in another post, but that will have to wait. Right now I want to show what our family contributed to the auction.
I knew I wanted to make a quilt for the auction, but with a cross-country move looming in the near future, I needed something simple. I stumbled on this idea, and decided to give it a shot with a jelly roll of Hideaway. The top was quick to piece (although I didn’t come close to the record of 35 minutes), and I thought it made for a nice unisex baby quilt. I may try this technique again in the future, if I need a quick gift.

DSC_0075
I quilted this in an all over meander and used 5 of the jelly roll strips for the binding. All of the different colored gingham prints worked great for that!
DSC_0077
I really love this fabric line, each print is so fun! And the bright reds and greens paired with the pale yellows and blues work really well together.
DSC_0078
I adore the print featuring the houses. And that red print with the birds, that’s one of my favorites.
DSC_0084
But possibly the cutest print in the line is the deer print:
DSC_0083
For the backing I used some leftover strips (I cut my top down to make a baby quilt rather than the lap quilt that 40 jelly roll strips yields) and the pearl bracelet from Lizzy House. That print is such a great shade of yellow! It seems to go with just about anything.
DSC_0079
I finished the quilt by machine-stitching the binding and adding a label to the back.
DSC_0080
For the second item that our family donated, I made some market bags. Everyone in Seattle seems to already have reusable market bags, but who wouldn’t want a coordinating set?!
I followed the Reusable Grocery Bag pattern by Keyka Lou/Michelle Patterns. I made three regular size market bags plus a mini market bag that also stores the larger three bags when not in use.
Here is the mini bag:
DSC_0098
The mini with the 3 larger bags:
DSC_0099
Details of the 3 larger bags:
DSC_0100
I used Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow collection for these. I wanted something dark, to hide dirt and stains, and not too girly. I did have to use a few of the flower prints, so I tried to use them mostly for lining.
I can’t wait to hear how the auction goes this weekend. Hopefully by early next week I will have *the* auction quilt to share, along with details on how well it did!
7 responses to “quilts, market bags, and auctions, oh my!

  1. Looks great, all of it! Funny, I just heard about that type of jelly roll quilt on a podcast that I listened to this afternoon. I'd never heard of it before but it's a great idea and super cute results.

  2. The jelly roll quilt is adorable! And now i know where that bird fabric is from – I kept seeing it around and not knowing. The market bags are lovely too. Looking forward to seeing THE auction quilt!

  3. Wow, I guess I have just been looking at pictures or something. How did I miss that you moved??? this quilt is so cute and so are the bags. Okay. I'm all caught up on your archives now. Whew…

Leave a Reply

