Just Pin It

My lqs has this very fun round, flat-ish pin cushion that I admire each time I’m having fabric cut. Their pin cushion is probably about 6″ in diameter with a grandma’s flower garden pattern appliqued on top. I’ve never reached out and touched it, but I’m guessing that it’s full of sand.
I have wanted to make a similar pin cushion for awhile, so I whipped up a few in time for Christmas – one for me and 3 for friends!
DSC_0129
I’m on a bit of a wonky star kick (more about that in another post), and I thought they would be the perfect piecing for a round pin cushion.
I kept this one for myself (center fabric is from a swap with Kristie!):
DSC_0133
The back:
DSC_0134
These are the first pin cushions that I have stuffed with crushed walnut shells, and I really like the resulting weight and feel. Good thing, since I have a huge bag of walnut shells to use up!
DSC_0136
In case you’re looking to make something similar, I started with 2.5″ squares to piece the stars. To create the circles, I simply traced around the base of a cylindrical vase. My circles ended up about 5″ in diameter after stitching the pin cushion together. I was worried about the tiny bits of walnut shell making their way out of the pin cushion, so I added a layer of muslin on both the top and bottom.
It took me just a few minutes to make each of these, and I love how they turned out!
6 responses to “Just Pin It

Leave a Reply

