Custom Diaper Bag in Heirloom

I was pleasantly surprised by how many people love my new Echino tote bag! So many great comments!
One person mentioned that it would make a great diaper bag, and asked if I would take a custom order. I love sewing customs, and she was such a great customer to work with.
I made two small modifications to the original bag – I added 2 bottle pockets to the inside of the bag and a detachable shoulder strap on the outside of the bag.
All of the fabric is Heirloom by Joel Dewberry. The amber colored blockprint is a laminate – we chose to use the laminate on the bag interior as well as the bottom of the exterior. Finished dimensions: 12″ tall, 15″ wide and 5″ deep. The shoulder strap is extendable so the bag can be worn cross-body style on a tall dad or a petite mom.

Bag front:
Front detail with the divided exterior pocket:
 Side with removable shoulder strap:
 All packed up! I stuffed the bag with 2 bottles, 3 cloth diapers, 2 burp pads, 3 bibs, and a change of clothes. I could have fit nearly twice as much in the bag! And the bag held it’s shape really nicely when full:
 Here is one of the bottle pockets. I used nylon for these pockets to reduce the amount of bulk:
(Not shown on the interior, I included a zip pocket just as in my Echino tote.)
 Bag back:
 My label!
I had a bit of fabric left over, so I sewed up this little zip pouch to send off with the bag. I try to add little extras to my customs when I have the chance. In this case, I thought a small zip pouch would come in handy for storing some cash, ID, keys, and maybe a cell phone. The zip pouch measures 5″ x 7″. 
It was fun to make up another bag customized for someone else, and in their fabric choices! This bag is so versatile, and I hope it meets the needs of a diaper bag!
10 responses to “Custom Diaper Bag in Heirloom

  1. I just discovered your blog – I'm always excited when I find another sew-crafty blogger from Washington State! (I'm in Olympia.) Believe it or not, I just finished going ALL the way back to your very first post! What a lot of beautiful things you have created! I'm adding you to my blog list so I can follow all your wonderfulness 😉

Leave a Reply

