Pin Catcher Tutorial and Giveaway!

I missed the August Pay It Forward giveaway, but I’ve got something cool for September! I can’t remember where I saw the idea for a magnetic pin bowl, but it’s been in the back of my mind for awhile now. Every time I stroll through a second hand shop, I’m on the look out for a specific style of bowl. Finally a few weeks ago I ran across some!
(Edit: a reader kindly pointed me to this post by Diary of a Quilter. I believe that is where I first read about this idea!)

Supplies:
Bowl with recessed bottom
Strong magnet (I found mine in a 3-pack at JoAnn Fabrics)
E6000 or other very strong glue
 A close up of the bowl bottom:
First up, squeeze a nice size puddle of glue onto the bottom of the bowl: 
 Now smoosh the magnet into the glue:
 Let the glue dry, turn the bowl over, and ta-da!
I found that this even works for plastic bowls! This one is for Addy: 
 The bottom of the plastic bowl:
I got a bit carried away with these, I was just so excited to find the right type of bowls at a local store. I’m going to give away 2 of these bowls to one of you! 
Just leave me a comment below, and I will announce the winner on Friday, Sept. 9th.
28 responses to “Pin Catcher Tutorial and Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

