The Mendocino quilt – finally!

I have actually been storing this finished quilt in my sewing room for several weeks now.  The quilting was finished in early June, but I stalled out on the binding.  Once Matt left for Seattle, I spent most of my nights in my sewing room rather than sitting in front of the tv (which is when I sew most of my binding).  I did finish it up after a few movie nights, but then I had to wait for a photo opportunity.  It’s kind of hard to photograph a full size quilt all by yourself. šŸ˜‰

The details:
I used Kona in pale flesh for the solid
All prints are Mendocino by Heather Ross
The pattern was based on this:

I couldn’t find any information about this pattern online, but it’s called Kid in the Candy Store and it was designed by Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr.  I found the pattern in the April 2006 issue of American Patchwork and Quilting.
I didn’t piece the rectangles because I wanted larger pieces of the prints.  I referenced the pattern for yardage and cutting dimensions, but did my own thing with the piecing.

Machine pieced and quilted.  Quilting is a random, gentle wave pattern that travels across the quilt.

The front:
   
The label, including a tiny bit of selvedge (which I haven’t written out yet!):
And the back, which shows the quilting better:
I love how this quilt turned out.  It took a lot longer to piece than I would have expected, and I had a tough time making the colors look random enough for my liking.  It was really worth it, though!  I love the colors, and I think it will work well in Addy’s bedroom for a long time.
I have quite a few scraps left, and I’m hoping to make some fun pillows from them.  Just don’t hold your breathe for a post on them. šŸ˜‰
6 responses to “The Mendocino quilt – finally!

Leave a Reply

